Clones lace workshops in 2013

Workshop at Colpo Bretagne Septembre 2013

Workshop at Colpo Bretagne Septembre 2012

Clones Lace Summer Workshop June 11-15 2014.

Special Guest tutor Galina Boltyanskaya Moscow.

My Clones Lace Workshops so far in 2013:

23rd Annual Summer Workshop of Clones lace

June 5-9 2013

Summer Workshop 2013 outside Canal Stores

Tonya at Sheelin Museum of Irish lace June 2013

Tonya examining antique Irish Crochet at Sheelin Museum 2013

Tonya demonstrating

Tonya demonstrating how she joins her motifs in a skirt!

Máire and Luce

Máire working with Luce Noyer.

Elizabeth crocheting a rose.

Elizabeth crocheting a rose.

Elizabeth and mother Mary Martin with finished roses on a necklace later that day!

Elizabeth and mother Mary Martin with finished roses on a necklace later that day!

My youngest daughter Cáit and Luce Noyer from Paris, modelling Tonya's purple and green top and Alyona's Hydranges top.

My youngest daughter Cáit and Luce Noyer from Paris, modelling Tonya’s purple and green top and Alyona’s Hydranges top.

Luce models an antique jabot at the International Irish Crochet fashion night at Summer workshop 2013.

Luce models an antique jabot at the International Irish Crochet fashion night at Summer workshop 2013.

Cáit modelling Alyona's bolero

Cáit modelling Alyona’s bolero

Luce modelling Tonya's skirt in Modern Irish Crochet

Luce modelling Tonya’s skirt in Modern Irish Crochet

Máire and Helene discussing Picot Bigouden

Máire and Helene discussing Picot Bigouden

 

Antique Dentelles Irlandais

Re-inactment of 19th century crochet class outside Cassandra Hand Centre  June 2013

Re-inactment of 19th century crochet class outside Cassandra Hand Centre
June 2013

Helene practicing modern Irish Crochet filling, under Tonya's guidance.

Helene practicing modern Irish Crochet filling, under Tonya’s guidance.

Nightclass in Liberty Belle March2013

Liberty Belle workshop Mrch2013

My nightclass in Liberty Belle Clones is attracting a lot of younger people on Wednesday nights 8-10 pm

Belfast City HallSt Patricks weekend 2013

This workshop in Belfast City Hall on St Patricks Weekend attracted a lot of young tourists from the States, Canada, France and Turkey!

Clones Lace Workshop at Constant Knitter Feb 23 2013

Clones Lace Workshop in Constant Knitter

23 February 2013

Next Workshops in 2013:

Loza Wool, Clondalkin, Dublin March 23

Night class in Liberty Belle, Clones 

Commencing thursday March 14  8-10pm and Wednesday nights after that!

Belfast City Hall-  March 15-16 as part of

St Patrick’s Festival

EOM Worshops, Mulranney, Co Mayo

April 13- 14

Essence of Mulranny (E.O.M.)
We had a lovely weekend. Small, but it was only the first!
Happy Birthday to Jill who traveled from Kentucky for the class!
We have booked the 1st week after Easter as the Irish Crochet weekend,
so the next course in EOM Mulranny will be April 25-27 2014!

The Constant Knitter, Francis St, Dublin April 27th 2013

Loza Wool Clondalkin Dublin May 25 2013

Merletto Irlandais

Orvieto, Italy

September 27-29 2013

Wexford Irish Crochet Workshop

October 12th 2013

Clones Lace Summer Workshop – Clones, Co Monaghan June 5-9 2013 as part of the Gathering Ireland

Special Guest Tutor – Antonina Kuznetsova

Tour of States

- July 2013 – dates to be confirmed,

but hopefully  I will be in:

Boston and New Hampshire

NYC

3 on list so far

Lafayette, Louisiana July 6-8

5 on list so far

Atlanta Georgia July 13 – 15 – confirmed

Denver CO

North Arlington North Illinois Crochet Guild, July 27-28

ending with Irish Crochet Master Class in

Lacis Berkeley in July 31st – August 3rd 2013

Orvieto and Lago Trasiemeno Italy September 2013

Loretta Lovisa and Máire Treanor at Festival Dentellieres Colpo Sept 8-9 2012Mme Talbot in Penmarch

Maire models her mask Lacis '12Simone Feunteuna in Penmarchgroup outside Lacis'12

38 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fiona harrington on August 23, 2012 at 11:30 am

    hello. I am wondering if you will be running any workshops in September?

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on August 23, 2012 at 11:40 pm

      Hi Fiona
      Yes I will be running a number of workshops in September -October, beginning with Colpo, Bretagne Septembre 1-2.
      Where are you from? I might be doing one near you!

      Reply

  2. I wish you Màire sucess in all your workshops, this one from 22 august it’s alaready gone, but a lot of them will be coming!God bless you! Greetings from Brazil :-)

    Reply

  3. Hello, I am a crocheter and recently bought some antique lace from the auction at Mount Congreve. I have some lovely crochect pieces and I think they are Clones Lace. Is there anyone who might help me to confirm this. Also I would be interested in attending a workshop. I live in Dublin. Thank you. Ann

    Reply

  4. Posted by Wilma on January 4, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    Hi, would you have any workshop in Finland anytime this year? I would love to learn Irish and Clones lace as I love crochet.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Beth Cunningham on January 23, 2013 at 2:51 am

    I’m interested in receiving information on the workshops in the United States, especially the Boston class.
    Sincerely,
    Beth Cunningham

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on January 23, 2013 at 12:32 pm

      Hi Beth
      Thank you for your interest. A woman in Boston asked me about going there, before Christmas, but I haven’t heard back from her. I am also waiting to hear back from people in NYC, St Paul – MN, Chicago and Denver CO and Manchester NH about workshops. I will definitely be in Atlanta Georgia July 13-14 and Lacis Berleley SFO July 31 – August 3. I will be posting workshops here and on my facebook page -Clones Lace Workshops – as I am confirmed!
      Máire

      Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on February 7, 2013 at 12:21 pm

      Hi Beth
      we’re working on the Boston, East Coast class. I’ll post it on the main page, when we work out something.
      I’ll add your name to the ‘interested’ list in the Boston area! :)

      Reply

  6. Hi Marie, Are the Orvieto and Lago Trasiemeno classes available to English-speakers? Once firmed up, how does one make reservations for one of those classes?

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on January 31, 2013 at 4:33 pm

      Hi Karen
      I will post the details about Orvieto et Lago Trasimeno classes on this blog, on Facebook and on Ravelry, when I know them. Yes they will be available to English speakers, as I have very little Italian!:)It’s great that you are interested. I’d love to meet you in person. We have been crossing each others paths online for a while now!
      Máire

      Reply

      • Oh Maire, I do so hope to be able to take your class, the earlier in September, the better for me. I would love to meet you in person too! Best Regards, Karen

        Hi Karen

        Thank you for your emails re the Orvieto and Trasimeno classes. If you don’t hear from me soon, remind me again. I need to talk to Loretta about it! Early September would suit me too! Btw, where do you live?
        Máire

  7. Posted by Caroline on January 27, 2013 at 3:57 am

    Hello! I am so excited about the possibility of you bringing a class to the Boston area. I was trying to encourage a store here in Maine called Halcyon Yarn to invite you to come to Maine for a class. Halcyon Yarns is a nationally known yarn store and would be a great venue for a class. I will continue to check out your site here for updates on your proposed trip the the U.S. East coast! Thank you for all your inspirations!

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on January 31, 2013 at 4:44 pm

      Hi Caroline
      I would love to come to the Boston area for a class, but so far, nobody has really invited me! One woman did
      talk about inviting me to a LYS in Boston, before Christmas, but nothing has happened since. You sound like you might be prepared to organise something for me! I am working on my schedule at present and would love to start off in Boston and NYC at the end of June, beginning of July. I will by in Atlanta Georgia 13-15 July, then Denver, Chicago… ending up in Lacis, Berkeley SFO July 31st- August 3rd.

      Reply

      • Posted by Caroline on February 24, 2013 at 8:09 pm

        Hello,

        Unfortunately, it looks like Halcyon will not be able to host a summer 2013 workshop. So, I will keep fingers crossed for a Dorchester, Boston area class and I will travel to that.

        Hope the Northeast of the USA can be a site!
        Caroline

  8. Posted by Melissa McKenzie on January 30, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    I am very excited that there might be a workshop in Boston in 2013. Any further information?

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on January 31, 2013 at 4:45 pm

      Hi Melissa
      I’m still trying to organise it. If you have any ideas or would like to organise it, I am willing!
      Máire

      Reply

  9. Posted by Jeanne on February 4, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    I’ve got some questions about organizing requirements:
    Assumption :
    You are travelling from Ireland to New England, USA region
    There is a Potential here if we can help you here on the East Coast:

    The problem I’m having is that not many people do thread crochet, and even less
    do any sort of Irish Crochet but I’m willing to do some legwork/scouting around .
    Boston/Mancheter/Maine – End of June, Early July

    Atlanta Georgia 13-15 July
    Colorado
    rest of time would be travelling westward toward California Lasis July 31 – Aug 3

    Here are my questions:

    *What arrangements do you require?

    *Class site ( New England).
    *Class size.
    * Class Fee
    *Texts,videos

    Status:
    I’ve got a call out to New Englang Quilt Museum – Fiber arts destination, Lowell MA
    Asking for interest in class or referral to site

    Starting to stab around…..

    Jeanne

    Reply

  10. Posted by Jeanne on February 4, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    Here is the site I’m trying to get:

    http://nequiltmuseum.org

    They have a classes and workshops section…. the only crochet they’ve got now is a class on hand hooked hand bags but there may be potential…. must keep fingers crossed!

    Reply

  11. Posted by cloneslace on February 4, 2013 at 11:19 pm

    Hi Jeanne
    I was chatting to you on my gmail account, so I won’t repeat myself here! Thank you for all your hard work. I hope something happens, but I’m confident it will!
    We can post the dates when we firm them up, for everybody else to see. I look on my gmail account a few times a day, so it’s better to discuss dates and venues there until we have some news for everybody else!:)
    Máire

    Reply

  12. Posted by Máire Treanor on February 6, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    Hi to everyone in the Boston MA – Concord NH area!
    We need a list of interested people in a workshop there to give us a stronger voice and get a workshop going in this area! If you are interested, let us know!
    Máire and Jeanne

    Reply

  13. Posted by Debbie on February 11, 2013 at 4:09 am

    Do you have details on your classes in Atlanta?

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on February 12, 2013 at 12:01 am

      Hi Debbie
      Although I don’t have the details yet, Suzi Gough of the
      Southeast Fiber Arts Alliance is interested in having me for
      the weekend of July 13-15!
      I haven’t heard from her to confirm dates, so it would be great
      if you could email her and ask her for details
      so that she knows that there is an interest out there!:)
      Her email address is sgough@bellsouth.net

      Máire

      Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on February 17, 2013 at 11:55 pm

      Hi Debbie
      I’ve just signed the contract to teach at the SEFAA in Atlanta Georgia July 13,14 and 15th! You can sign up now if you are interested and help get the word out there:)

      Reply

  14. Posted by cloneslace on February 25, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    Hi Debbie
    I see that you were asking me about the Atlanta course. I have added you to the Lafayette course, but we can take you off again if the date doesn’t suit you!
    Máire

    Reply

  15. Posted by Mary Delahunty on June 6, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    Hello – Is there any out there that could crochet a skirt in next 6 week for an end of July wedding…. Please call me on 00353 876752987.. I am trying to match a top my grandmother made 70 plus years ago… If not , could you recommend anone that could Thanks

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on June 7, 2013 at 4:29 pm

      Hi Mary
      I have already been speaking to you today. As I said you are welcome to come along to the Clones Lace Summer Workshop this weekend. I did ask in Roslea, where Irish Crochet is also done. When I looked at the photos of the top, it is not traditional Irish Crochet, but we’ll get a better idea if we see it tomorrow night.

      Máire

      Reply

  16. Hello Maire~ I signed up for your master class at Lacis and now I am having troubles making it fully happen (I live in Richmond, VA). This makes me quite ill to think of not going but I need to give them notice very soon and also I am wondering if there is room yet in your two day class in Atlanta in July that I might sign up for. This would be more realistic for me. Please let me know as soon as you can. Thank you kindly~ Jennifer Stumpf — jennstumpf@yahoo.com

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on June 22, 2013 at 11:16 pm

      Hi Jennifer
      They were still vacancies for the Atlanta workshop the last time I was talking to them, so I’m sure it would still be okay. Tell them you were talking to me if there is a problem! though I don’t think there will be. Do you have the email address, or do you need me to get it for you!
      Sorry that you wont be able to make Lacis, but good that you might make Atlanta!

      Máire

      Reply

  17. Posted by Heidi Hodges on July 26, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    Hello Marie, I have seen your beautiful work in magazines and on websites. A friend and I will be traveling to Hampton Court Palace next summer (2014) to take a class at the school of needlework there. Do you offer any classes in that area? I don’t think that we will have time to make it to Ireland. Thank you!

    Reply

  18. Posted by Maeve M. Vinci on August 13, 2013 at 12:39 am

    Hi Marie,
    I just discovered your blog last night. I am very interested in learning about Clones Irish Lace. I have pieces framed that my great aunt made. She was the one who taught me to crochet. Last year I was over in Ireland to attend my cousin’s wedding. I was able to visit the Carrickmacross Lace Gallery. My family is from Dundalk.I live in Northeren New Jersey and would love to take a class. All the best, Maeve

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on August 21, 2013 at 11:07 pm

      Hi Maeve
      I have just returned from a tour of the States. I was in Atlanta GA, Denver CO, Seattle WA, ending up in Lacis Berkeley SFO.
      Do you want to come to Ireland to a workshop or would you like to come to a workshop near you?
      I will probably be in the States in March – April and July 2014.
      I’m not sure where I will be, but look into my Clones Lace Blog every now and then and I will post where I will be. I also have a page on facebook – Clones lace Workshops facebook page and on Ravelry – Máire Treanor Irish Crochet Ravelry Page.
      Great to see your interest!

      Máire

      Reply

      • Posted by Maeve M. Vinci on August 22, 2013 at 7:34 pm

        Thanks Maire
        I don;t think I’ll be going over to Irealand anytime soon. Hopefully I will be able to make your workshop in the states. I look forward to the details.
        All the best,
        Maeve

  19. Posted by Julie Brunts on September 11, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    Hi Marie,
    I have just discovered your blog and I am fascinated! I would love to attend one of your classes. My husband and I may be in Dublin, Ireland the last week of November. Are you by chance having any classes that week? If not Dublin, anywhere near there? I am an avid crocheter and would love to learn from you!
    Julie
    Louisiana, USA

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on September 17, 2013 at 8:49 pm

      Hi Julie
      at present I am in Italy researching my next book! I didn’t bring my diary with me, but since I came here I have been invited to attend a craftfair in Newry County Down November 28-29. I will also be in the Constant Knitter in Dublin in November, but I think, off hand, it is Saturday November 15. I could take you for a private class if you were interested in that option.
      I can give you more details if you email me again. I will be back in Ireland after September 20th!
      Maire

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

