US Trip July 2013



Maire with mask poster

I began my US workshop tour teaching Clones Irish Crochet Lace in Atlanta, where I had been invited by Suzi and the South East Fiber Arts Alliance. I stayed with Kathleen Pickens while I was there and had a wonderful time. Thank you to all those who helped make this a successful venue, especially Nanette Sarquiz, a freeform artist, who first suggested me to Suzi, Kathleen who was a great hostess and everybody who attended my workshop in Atlanta!

Linda Suzi and Máire in AtlantaNanette and MaireAtlanta workshop '13Kathleen and me

Next stop was Denver CO. Diane Cheatwood had invited me to Denver after attending my workshop in Lacis the previous year.  Diane met me in Denver  Airport, though I was in it in 2012, to make a dvd in Loveland for Interweave. This turned out to be a very successful trip. Diane brought me to the Avenir Museum in Fort Lyons, where they were preparing to open an exhibition on Irish Lace. Mary Sheils, who teaches Carrickmacross Lace, the other great Monaghan lace, and lives about 20 miles from me, in Cootehill County Cavan, was booked to give a workshop in October 2013. When Susan Torntore, the currator at the Avenir Museum, saw my antique and modern lace collection, she was amazed. She especially loved my modern Irish Crochet samples by Olga Krivenko and Antonina Kuznetsova, who feature regularly in  MOD and DUPLET and who have taught in our Clones Lace Summerschool and when she heard of my plans to return to the east coast in March/April 2014, she proposed that the Avenir Museum host a joint workshop with Antonina and me!  I also did a presentation in the Tactile Center in Denver.

Susan Maire and MeganMáire in Avenir Museum 2013Megan modelling maskcloseup of Megan modelling Máire's Clones Lace topIrish Irish Crochet in AvenirAntique piece of IC in Avenir MuseumAvenir sleeve


Avenir museum1'13

Thistle spray Avenir Museum 2013Máire talking about her antique collection in Tactile Center Denver

Máire talks about antique collection Tactile Center Denver1

Máire shows Clones on a map of Ireland in Tactile center Denver


Irish Crochet and filet lace Tactile center'13

Diane Susan and Máire Denver'13

drinking marguerittes Denver'13

Máire and Diane Colorado'13

Next stop was Makers Mercantile Seattle!I was relieved and delighted when Christina, who had never been to a workshop, never mind organize one, emailed me to tell me that Maker’s Mercantile in Seattle would be delighted to host me, as Sharon Zientara, the manager, had worked with me on the Interweave dvd the previous year.  Jeff Sung, who has been attending my Lacis Workshops since I first started coming in 2010, lives in Seattle, so that was an added bonus! It turned out to be a great course!

Sharon modelling Olga's top

Olga Krivenko’s top

Jeff's hedgehog Seattle'13

in Makers Mercantile'13

Antonina Kuznetsova’s top

Sharon modelling my top

My top

Seattle what group did

This is what the Seattle group made after 3 days!

Joy Prescott models mask and necklace Seattle 2013Máire and Joy Seattle'13

Christina and kid'13Christina
Máire and kid in Seattle

My final stop was Lacis, where I have been giving Clones Irish Crochet Lace Workshops since 2010. Next year will be the 5th year and we plan to have a special exhibition of students work for the week, which will be July 22-25 2014.

At this stage, going to Berkeley is like going home. I have been there so often. I love the atmosphere of Lacis with it’s great selection of threads, hooks and the magic of the Rose Garden Inn, where we stay each year.

This year we had a mixture of returning students and
new students, some of whom had traveled from the other side of the States for my workshop!


Lacis group 2013 Lacis workshop again

Molly and Ina

MollyMirto and Ina model their tops Mirto models her IC wedding top Mirto and Cynthia

Amazing! I got the same bag in an antique shop - Rosemary bullions
Cheryl practising some Clones knot filling

 Suzanne doing Clones knotCynthia hard at work Grapes and vines on Leann's shawl

Leann modelling her shawl Leann  shawl full view
Leann and Rosemary working at Clones Knot filling Kim hard at work

Máire and Kim
Leann and Ina discussing IC

Molly modelling Tonya's top backview Jules at Lacis

Cynthia and Erin

Erin Lacis'1`3
Cynthia scrutinizes lace top sleeve in lacis

Antique Clones Lace Blouse

Jules at Lacis

Working hard at Lacis'13

 motif in Lacis


Antique daisies in Lacis

Cynthia's daisies in Lacis

Lacis'13

Lacis group eating out

tPatty and Kim

Irish Coffees at Buena Vista

Enjoying Irish Coffees with Rosemary

Ready for home!:)

Leave a comment