About me – Máire Treanor

I first became interested in Clones Lace in 1987, when I met Mamo McDonald, who introduced me to Clones Lace, the forgotten lace of the town. On a beautiful spring day, Mamo brought me to visit some of the older crocheters who still crocheted Irish Crochet squares and edged hankies. Up among the hills of Fermanagh, about 5 minutes drive from Clones, we walked into Eileen Crudden’s kitchen. She was sitting edging linen hankies. When we walked in, she put away her work in jamjar, where she kept her handmade hook, with its wooden handle. This glimpse from the past made a lasting impression on me.
We later met other crocheters such as Tessie Leonard, Elisabeth Monahan, Annie Kerr and her sister Vera Reilly, but we weren’t able to find anyone who knew how to make the famous Clones knot, although Elisabeth made the motifs that were common to Clones Lace.

At this time I was employed by Irish World as a development officer, setting up new branches and employment projects of the the organisation in Ireland, in the UK and in NYC. We set up an employment project in the Clones area, teaching Clones Lace. At this stage I was not crocheting and Elisabeth Monahan was the instructor, though we had other tutors on various days, such as Florence Creighton, who is a colourful character from Newtownbutler,  Fermanagh.

Time passed by. I got married and then when I was having my first daughter Máiréad, a woman came to visit me in hospital in February 1989.  Nan Caulfield was a friend of my husband. She chatted away about crocheting gloves for her daughter’s debs and teaching the crochet in Monaghan.  Delighted to hear that she made and taught  Clones Lace, I asked her if she would come to Clones to teach a night class in Clones Lace, which she did.
I was among her students and she taught me how to make Irish Crochet squares, how to crochet motifs, using packing cord and she demonstrated the Clones Knot, as she had seen Mary Ellen Beagan of Roslea do it.  I also visited Mary Ellen, who died shortly afterwards. She used the shamrock Clones knot, or rolled dot as it is called locally, to edge doilies, which won her awards in the annual RDS craft competition. This is a very prestigious arts and craft fair held in Ireland each July, as part of the horse riding fair.

The following September, I taught my first night class in Clones Lace.  Then in 1990, we had our first summer school of Clones Lace, which we named the Cassandra Hand Summer school of Clones Lace, as Mamo said that there were no summer schools in Ireland which were named after women.

In the first few years, Eithne D’Arcy, who had written a book on Irish Crochet,  officially opened the summer school in Mamo’s teashop.  There was also a Clones Lace Gallery above the teashop. Mamo had been the national president of the ICA and was a great spokesperson. At this time, there was nobody crocheting the motifs and joining stitch in the area.  The fine squares were what was known as Clones Lace or Irish Crochet, but I was much more interested in the freeform element of the older Clones Lace, which had died out. Although Nan Caulfield and Mary Beggan knew how to do the Clones knot, they didn’t use it as a joining stitch.  Elisabeth Monahan crocheted the picot filling stitch between her motifs.  I quickly and quietly learned how to crochet Clones Lace from the older people and I also examined the antique pieces of Clones Lace which were on exhibition in Mamo’s Clones Lace Gallery.  We had a workers co-operative of Clones Lace with fifteen outworkers, mostly from Fermanagh. Over ten years, we made Clones Lace for outlets all over the world, but mostly the US. Then in 2000, I decided I wanted to do other things with my life and I resigned as co-ordinator of the Guild. Clones Lace Guild was wound up as a co-operative.

Encouraged by Mamo, I decided to write a book on the local folklore of Clones Lace, with a how-to section on the intricracies of Clones Lace, aimed at the beginner, as I felt that the older books on Irish Crochet were difficult to interpret.  The first part of the book related the history and local stories associated with the crochet, as it is called locally.  I retold many  of  the memories that were told by Elisabeth Monahan,  Nan Caulfield, the Cruddens and Tessie Leonard at folklore nights held in Mamo’s teashop, during the early years of the Cassandra Hand Summer school of Clones Lace. Over the years, the name of the summerschool has been shortened to Clones Lace Summer workshops, but it has been taking place annually since 1990.

I was first invited to teach Clones Lace in the States in 1999. Jean Ness had been a regular visitor to the summerschool, travelling with her husband Don from southern California.  She was delighted that I was coming to Seattle and consequently met me at LAX and we all travelled up to Seattle by car over 5 days.  This was the first of many trips to the  States. In  2005, Martha, who was working in Lacis on an Irish Crochet exhibition, invited me to teach there.  Barbara Ballantyne travelled from Australia for the workshop. Later that summer, she  met me back in Clones with Neilie O’Cleirigh, whom I had often heard about, but  never had the pleasure to meet.  Both Barbara and Neilie taught me a lot about referencing lace and about the different types of Irish lace.

Although ‘Clones Lace’ was published in 2002, it went out of print in 2005, but in 2009, Jules Kliot contacted me and asked me if I would like Lacis to reprint it. They updated the book, scanning it, but I wrote a preface.  The workshop in Lacis has become a mirror of the Clones Lace Summer Workshop, with many of the same students returning each year, so much better than the previous year. Jules is very learned in the history of lace and he has amazing samples of Venetian needlepoint lace, which was the inspiration to the Irish laces during the Potato Famine 1845-51.  Berkeley is also a beautiful vacation destination and the Rose Garden Inn is an amazing Hotel for the group.

My interest in Clones Lace has taken me to wonderful places all over the world and I have met amazing, interesting people.

This year, 2012, we have decided to broaden out the summer school, while maintaining the community aspect of it and Olga Krivenko (Olgemini) is attending as a guest tutor from Russia. This is the first time we have invited a guest tutor, and we are hoping it will broaden the interest in Clones Lace. We are the first group to invite a Master Designer from Eastern Europe, where there is such an interest in modern Irish Crochet inspired designs.  We are also hopeful that this year will the first of many and have invited Antonina Kuznetsova (Tonya to her friends) to attend next year’s summer school. Several people have shown an interest in attending next year’s summer school! Kathleen Cassidy who works in  the Cassandra Hand Centre, has got a grant to renovate Cassandra Hand’s plot in Clogh, five miles from Clones.   She has also given a grant for foreign  nationals living in the Clones area, to help pay Olga’s expenses. Then next year, we’ll have to find another grant to help pay Antonina’s expenses! Catherine McMahon is also helping with the preparations for the summerschool.

I would also like to have my second book on Irish Crochet throughout the World, published by next year’s summerschool! -so that’s my plan……perhaps as an ebook, with some hardcopies for those who prefer this format!

I will add some interesting photos next time…….

19 responses to this post.

  1. A lovely story to read. Looking forward to the next instalment!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Patricia on May 17, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Patricia here from Drogheda, I was wondering if you are doing any
    classes in the Drogheda Area? I dont dirve, so if you any other
    classes they would need to be on abus route. Also how much is your
    book, I would like to make something for my daughter whos is getting
    married in march next year. Any suggestions

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on May 17, 2012 at 10:20 pm

      Hi Patricia

      I don’t have any workshops planned for Drogheda, but perhaps if you suggested some places
      where I could try, I could email them my details and see what happens.
      My workshop in the Constant Knitter next week is on a bus route and that would have been perfect for you
      but it’s booked out now, though she’s taking names for the waiting list and then if there’s another
      workshop, in June or September, you could put your name down for that! Email the Constant Knitter.
      If you’re interested in the Clones Lace Summerschool at the end of June, I’m sure there’s a bus from
      Drogheda – Monaghan!
      Re: my book, you can pay by paypal, if you have a paypal account, or send a cheque to me. You can email
      me privately to maireslace@gmail.com
      I’d love to see the style of your daughter’s dress. You could do an inset in lace, or a lace belt, or flowers for her head-piece. Don’t try to do anything too big. That’s where you run into problems and stress yourself out!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Jean Ness on May 31, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    Maire, You write a fantastic story of your beginnings in Clones lace and having met some of the people you write about I really enjoyed reading it. Am new to Ravelry and am still trying to find my way around all the info here. Am still trying to figure out if I can get to Lacis when you are going to be there.

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on June 1, 2012 at 12:03 am

      Hi Jean
      Great to see you here! I really hope you can come to Lacis when I’m there. I’d love to meet you and Don!
      If you have any problems with sign up, let me know! As my oldest crochet-loving friend in the States, you
      will always have a special place!
      Máire

      Reply

  4. Posted by Dione E. Zale on September 30, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    Hello Maire, thank you so very much for your work making this beauty available to all of us less talented mortals. I’ve been knitting all my life and have just discovered Clones lace, so I will become a crocheter of Irish Lace, too! At 81 years old, it’s about time. Please add me to your email lists so I’ll know when you next plan to teach at Lacis in Berkeley, California. My home is about an hour away, so that would be a wonderful treat for me.
    Dione E. Zale

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on April 25, 2013 at 5:46 pm

      Hi Dione
      It’s great to hear from you. I will be in Lacis July 31 – August 3rd 2013. We always stay in the Rose Garden Inn on 2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA, 94705, but you probably won’t need accommodation when you live so close by! You can contact Erin at Lacis if you wish to book a place! I’ll give you her email address if you need it. It’s erin@lacis.com!
      Do you know how to crochet? I did a series of articles in Interweave Crochet, Piecework and Crochet Traditions. I also have a dvd on Irish Crochet and Clones Lace. It’s available through http://www.crochetme.com

      Máire

      Reply

  5. […] Posted April 9, 2012 by cloneslace in Uncategorized. Tagged: Clones Lace Máire Treanor Mamo MacDonald Irish Crochet. 5 Comments | Edit […]

    Reply

  6. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be just what I’m looking
    for. Does one offer guest writers to write content to
    suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome blog!

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on April 26, 2013 at 11:50 pm

      Thank you! It needs some more work on it, if I had the time!:) You could write like you are here and I could post it, if it was okay! I don’t know how else to do it!
      What kind of material would you be doing?
      Máire

      Reply

  7. Posted by Julie on May 8, 2013 at 2:05 am

    HI, I have ordered your clones lace book through Roseground.com in early April and looking at the order status its still on out of stock. Would they order direct from you? Im just a little disappointed that Ive not heard anything from them and wonder why they havent completed my order from a month ago, thanks

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on May 8, 2013 at 2:57 pm

      Hi Julie
      I asked them to order from Lacis, as it costs me to supply Roseground. Lacis charge me so much for the books plus postage. I have a few books here. Do you want to order directly from me through Paypal? Sorry about this.
      Máire

      Reply

      • Posted by Julie on May 8, 2013 at 9:31 pm

        Hi Maire, thanks for getting back to me. Yes I would like to order through you but I will first have to get my refund from Roseground. They still have not replied to my emails. I will try again to get through to them.

  8. Posted by cloneslace on May 8, 2013 at 10:12 pm

    Roseground emailed me tonight about them. Maybe it would be best, if you’ve paid them, for me to send the books to them. I want them to start ordering through Lacis
    but I’ll send the books to them this time. Sorry about this.
    Breakdown in communication!
    Máire

    Reply

    • Hi Maire,

      I have just got a reply from Pat. Ive let her know I have been in touch with you and my understanding is that hopefully they will have some books soon J

      I have previously purchased your video and cant wait for the book. I have a very exciting project I am working on. Could I be cheeky and ask you a question? The project is for a wedding dress and I want to use a silk thread, the finest possible using a .3 hook and I would also like a gold silks thread. I am totally lost when it comes to what threads to use. There are so many varieties and thicknesses. Up until now I have only used the standard coates. Could you please point me in the right direction non what thread I need for pure silk either white or gold.

      Many many thanks

      Julie

      Reply

      • Posted by cloneslace on May 9, 2013 at 11:25 am

        Hi Julie
        I’ve only used silk thread once, for a special project –
        a christening bonnet. It was using antique silk thread
        that would have been used here in Clones. I found it
        very slippery to use.

        At the moment I am doing insets for a wedding dress
        for my niece. I have used Anchor Coats 60 with 80 for the filling.
        I am using a .5 hook. I didn’t know you could get a .3!

        I’m posting the books today, so you should get them early next week.
        Sorry for this confusion.

        Máire

  9. Posted by Martina beagangreenan on June 16, 2013 at 3:09 pm

    Just read your story and how you talked about my mum Mary Ellen beagan of Roslea I have some of her crochet and the certificate she won in Dublin if you would like to see any of them. I don’t crochet but my youngest daughter has an interest in it and would love to learn is there anyone teaching it in the area. I now live in rockcorry . Great to see you all keeping tradition going

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on June 16, 2013 at 3:43 pm

      Hi Martina
      I didn’t realise I had spelt her name wrong! Sorry! I’ll get it corrected in the next print.
      I saw her crochet years ago, when I was beginning to take an interest! She did the Clones
      knot, or the rolled dot, as an edging on her pieces. What age is your daughter? I do a workshop
      during the year in Liberty Belle Clones, but I’d be interested in doing one somewhere closer,
      if we could organise it! Máire

      Reply

      • Posted by cloneslace on June 16, 2013 at 3:47 pm

        I’ve corrected her name here! Is it okay to call her Mary Ellen. I knew her as Mrs Beagan! It’d be great to have a photo of her! Do you have any of her with her crochet?

Leave a Reply

