Travelling with Clones Lace and Irish Crochet

My love of Clones Lace and Irish Crochet has taken me to wonderful places such as:

Seattle, WA

California

Penmarch’ Bretagne La France

Lacis, Berkeley

Venice and Burano Island

Kyiv, Ukraine

Minneapolis and St Paul

Mulraney, County Mayo, Ireland

An Cultúrlann, Beal Féirste

The Sheelin Museum, Bellinaleck County Fermanagh………more to follow + pics

5 responses to this post.

  1. Hello! I’ve just fallen in love with crochet lace and came across your information. I’ve actually been crocheting since I was 4 (almost 46 years now) and knitted for the past 7 or 8. I have not done thread crocheting for a while and I’m working on a painted crochet item and am discovering my hands don’t really like the fine thread anymore but I’m hoping to whip them into shape since I’ve fallen in love with this medium. I certainly hope to be able to get to one of your workshops in Ireland one day but that will definitely be a few years in the future. I would love to know if you are planning any trips to Southeast USA… South Carolina in particular. I know that is a longshot! I am a complete beginner on this style and am very good at following written instructions but from what I’ve seen so far, it looks like I really need to learn to read diagrams. I am looking forward to exploring and learning this beautiful art and I hope to meet you and join in on one of your workshops one day!

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on July 22, 2012 at 6:06 pm

      Hi Mary
      It’s great to hear from you! At the moment I am in Minneapolis and I was in Berkeley last week. I would love to come to South Carolina some time, or perhaps you could come somewhere closer to me! If you wanted to organise a workshop in South Carolina, I would certainly come! Thats what it takes – somebody to organise on the ground!
      Maire

      Reply

  2. Since I am new to this, I’ll check in our area needlework stores to see if they have anyone requesting and purchasing supplies or if they have a board I can post on. I do know there is a tatting group two counties over that has regular monthly meetings. My daughter and I are planning to “cross the pond” in a few summers so as soon as I know which summer, I’ll make sure we plan the trip around one of the summer classes. My daughter just rolls her eyes at me when I find something new I want to try because that usually means I won’t finish what I’m working on. However, I’m am planning to work on getting all unfinished projects out of the way in the next few months so I can start concentrating on learning all about crochet lace =D I hope to be getting back with you if I can get up enough interest here to be able to invite you … and if not, then I will look forward to meeting you in a few summers! marykay

    Reply

  3. Are there any courses in the UK?

    Reply

    • Posted by cloneslace on February 15, 2013 at 2:39 am

      Hi
      Where do you live? I did a workshop in Frodsham, Cheshire last October and I’d love to do another one, if you want to organise one! I’d send you my details, if you are interested! My gmail address is maireslace@gmail.com

      Máire

      Reply

Leave a Reply

